2019-20 Scholar in Residence

Dr. Yizhar Hess –
December 14, 2019
Executive Director and CEO of the Conservative movement in Israel (Masorti). Yizhar is a graduate of the IDF’s Officers Training Program and the Educational Officers Course and  served as commander of the IDF’s Hasbara (Information) Unit. Today he is one of the most significant voices for  religious pluralism and democracy in Israel.

Lise Pearlman –
January 25, 2020
Lise Pearlman is an author, attorney and activist. Her latest book is “Call Me Phaedra: The Life and Times of Movement Lawyer Fay Stender”

Dara Horn – February 8, 2020
A highly recognized thinker and writer, Dara Horn is an American novelist, professor of literature and the award-winning author of “Eternal Life” and “A Guide for the Perplexed.”

Arnold M. Eisen – February 15, 2020
Chancellor of the Jewish Theological Seminary

Donniel Hartman –
February 22, 2020
Rabbi Dr. Donniel Hartman is  President of the Shalom Hartman Institute in Jerusalem and Director of the iEngage Project. He founded some of the most extensive education, training and enrichment programs for scholars, educators, rabbis and lay leaders in Israel and North America.

Eli Beer
 – February 28, 2020
Eli Beer is the Founder of United Hatzalah of Israel and President of Friends of United Hatzalah in the US. He has re-imagined first response by training EMT volunteers to respond to local calls and keep people alive until official help arrives.

Dr. Ismar Schorsch – March 1-3, 2020
Chancellor Emeritus of the Jewish Theological Seminary